Rotator cuff syndrome

The rotator cuff comprises four muscles: the supraspinatus muscle, the infraspinatus muscle, the teres minor muscle and the subscapularis muscle.

The damage is most often associated with recurring microinjuries, degenerative processes, critical ischemia or constrictions within the subacromial space, in which the rotator cuff is located. Most frequently, the damage is done to the origins of the supraspinatus and the subscapularis muscle. Usually, there is a total or partial separation of the origin of the muscle from the greater tuberosity of the humerus.

Corrective surgery involves the removal of damaged, unstable and inflamed tissues, and then reattaching the damaged muscle to the bone. Most commonly, these types of procedures use special elements that anchor the thread in the bone. They provide a very strong and stable solution to the problem. Properly performed surgery restores shoulder joint mobility and muscle strength, and reduces pain.

The procedure is followed by brace immobilisation and rehabilitation under a supervision of an experienced physical therapist.